You Have Value

In the past few years, I have done quite a bit of writing on self improvement, and have not applied hardly any of it, comparably.

If I were to apply everything that I’ve learned and written about, I would be able to do all kinds of impossible things– things that few believed were even possible.

This is because what I write about is my potential, not what I will actually do.

As a result, I’ve become nothing more than an existentialist philosopher with no value, no will to live. A person who claims to be able to solve all of the worlds problems, and help people be whatever they want to be, and do whatever they want to do. A hypocrite, one who talks the talk but doesn’t walk the walk.

This post is about the beginning of everything– the foundation.

1If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. 2If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. 3If I give all I possess to the poor and surrender my body to the flames, but have not love, I gain nothing.

In other words, I could do all of these amazing and beautiful things…but if I do not have a genuine love of myself and for others, nothing I do will ever have value.

This is where it all starts: Love.

While your potential may be determined by what you know, and what inspires you– what you actually become is ultimately determined by how much you value yourself and others; love yourself and others.

About Justin Benjamin

Justin Benjamin is a prolific blogger, poet, and novelist. As a philosophy and psychology enthusiast, most of his journalism is concerned with social dynamics, reality hacking, metaphysics, positive psychology, cognitive bias, psychoanalysis, and experimental psychology. His fictional writing takes a slightly darker tone, serving as a outlet to express existential angst, suppression of freewill, melancholy, and an extreme dissatisfaction with reality.
This entry was posted in Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

